THE MARYLAND-NATIONAL CAPITAL PARK AND PLANNING COMMISSION

The Maryland-National Capital Park and Planning Commission is a bi-county agency created by the General Assembly of Maryland in 1927. The Commission's geographic authority covers most of Montgomery and Prince George's counties. The Commission's planning jurisdiction, the Maryland-Washington Regional District, comprises 1,001 square miles; its parks jurisdiction, the Metropolitan District, comprises 919 square miles.

The Commission has three major functions:

- (1) The preparation, adoption, and, from time to time, amendment or extension of *The General Plan (On Wedges and Corridors) for the Physical Development of the Maryland-Washington Regional District Within Montgomery and Prince George's Counties.*
- (2) The acquisition, development, operation, and maintenance of a public park system.
- (3) In Prince George's County only, the operation of the entire County public recreation program.

The Commission operates in each county through a Planning Board appointed by and responsible to the county government. The Planning Boards are responsible for preparation of all local master plans, recommendations on zoning amendments, administration of subdivision regulations, and general administration of parks.

The Maryland-National Capital Park and Planning Commission encourages the involvement and participation of individuals with disabilities, and its facilities are accessible. For assistance with special needs (e.g., large print materials, listening devices, sign language interpretation, etc.), please contact the Community Relations Office, 301-495-4600 or TDD 301-495-1331.

ELECTED AND APPOINTED OFFICIALS

COUNTY COUNCIL

Michael L. Subin, *President* Blair Ewing, *Vice President*

Phil Andrews
Derick P. Berlage
Nancy Dacek
Isiah Leggett
Betty Ann Krahnke
Marilyn J. Praisner
Steven A. Silverman

COUNTY EXECUTIVE

Douglas M. Duncan

THE MARYLAND-NATIONAL CAPITAL PARK AND PLANNING COMMISSION

Elizabeth M. Hewlett, *Chairman* William H. Hussmann, *Vice Chairman*

COMMISSIONERS

Montgomery County Planning Board

William H. Hussmann, *Chairman*Arthur Holmes, Jr., *Vice Chairman*Allison Bryant
Wendy C. Perdue
Meredith K. Wellington

Prince George's County Planning Board

Elizabeth M. Hewlett, Chairman

Zola E. Boone James M. Brown Regina J. McNeil

Acknowledgments

Montgomery County Park and Planning Department

Charles R. Loehr, Director Drew Dedrick, Chief, Research and Technology Center

Project Team

Wayne Koempel, Research Planner Karl Moritz, Research Manager Fred Peacock, Research Supervisor Sally Roman, Research Supervisor

Other Staff

Belle Burkhart, Web Specialist Charles Coleman, Reproduction Specialist

Other Contributors

Anirban Basu, Director of Applied Economics, RESI, Towson University
Daraius Irani, Associate Director of Applied Economics, RESI, Towson University
John Hopkins, Research Associate, RESI, Towson University
Robert Catineau, Planner, Montgomery County Department of Economic Development
Robert Hagedoorn, Chief Economist, Montgomery County Department of Finance

For more information, please contact: Karl Moritz, Research Manager, 301-495-1312 moritz@mncppc.state.md.us